Veiled In Smoke

£9.99
In stock
SKU
9780764233302
The Flames Took So Much.She Can't Lose Her Father As Well.Meg Townsend and her sister, Sylvie, seek a quiet existence managing the family bookshop. Me...
 
Author: Jocelyn Green
Series: The Windy City
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
The Flames Took So Much.
She Can't Lose Her Father As Well.

Meg Townsend and her sister, Sylvie, seek a quiet existence managing the family bookshop. Meg feels responsible for caring for their father, Stephen, whose spirit and health are both damaged from his time as a prisoner during the Civil War. Her one escape is the paintings she creates and sells in the bookshop.

Then the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago's business district. The fiery explosions and chaos stir up memories of war for Stephen as he runs from the blaze and becomes separated from his daughters. Days later, when the smoke has cleared, Meg and Sylvie manage to reunite with him. Their home and shop are lost, and what's left among the ashes may be even more threatening than the flames, for they learn that a close friend was murdered the night of the fire--and Stephen has been charged with the crime. After he is committed to the Cook County Insane Asylum, where they cannot visit him, Stephen feels as lost to them as the shop that now lies in rubble.

Though homeless and suddenly unemployed, Meg must not only gather the pieces of her shattered life but prove the truth of what happened that night, before the asylum truly drives her father mad.

"Christy Award-winner Green sets this tumultuous, affecting tale against the backdrop of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. . . . Green engagingly weaves subtle faith elements into the mystery and romance. Fans of Lisa Wingate will enjoy this."--Publishers Weekly

"History, mystery, romance, and faith combine in the first book in the Christy Award-winning Green's Windy City Saga. Recommend to readers who enjoy Lisa Wingate and Elizabeth Camden."--Booklist

"With strong supporting characters and historical facts woven throughout, Veiled in Smoke makes for a great read."--BookPage

More Information
Availability Only one left in stock.
Publisher Bethany House Publishers
Series The Windy City
Author Jocelyn Green
Binding Paperback
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Veiled In Smoke
Your Rating